The Organizing Committee for the XXII Olympic Winter Games and XI Paralympic Winter Games of 2014 in Sochi has officially been formed today. It will be responsible for the preparation and organization of the Olympic Games, and will report to the International Olympic Committee.

As was expected, Dmitry Chernyshenko is appointed chief executive officer of the organizing committee, and the Deputy Prime Minister Alexander Zhukov is appointed head of supervisory board.

The Organizing Committee will be ensuring that IOC requirements are met during design and construction of the Olympic venues, as well as infrastructure projects, including transportation, security and medical services projects.

The Committee will also be responsible for financial planning and control of the Olympic budget.

The members of the Supervisory Board of the Organizing Committee “Sochi-2014” are:

Alexander Zhukov — Deputy Prime Minister of the Russian Government, and head of supervisory board

Dmitry Kozak — Russian regional development minister since September 2007. Previously a Special representative of the Russian President in the Southern Federal District (where Sochi is located)

Dmitry Chernyshenko – Chief executive officer of the organizing committee “Sochi-2014”. He was also in charge of the Olympic bid committee.

Semen Vaynshtok — president of Transneft state company that manages all Russian oil-pipelines. Read: Chief of Russian oil pipeline operator in charge of Olympic construction.

Aleksey Gromov – Press Attache for the President

Vladimir Kozhin – Head of the Presidential Household Affairs Department. He was Deputy Chairman of the G8 Summit Organizing Committee that took place in St. Petersburg last year.

Viktor Kolodyazhny – Mayor of Sochi

Aleksey Kudrin – Minister of Finance and a Deputy Prime Minister of the Russian Government

Mikhail Lesin – Media Adviser to the President

Vladimir Potanin – Businessman. Head of the holding company Interros, which pledged to invest $1.5 billion in Sochi and Krasnaya Polyana. Ranked 89 among The World’s Richest People In 2006.

Alexander Tkachev – Governor of the Krasnodar Region

Leonid Tyagachev – President of the Russian Olympic Committee

Viacheslav Fetisov – Captain of the Soviet National Hockey Team, one of the best defensemen of all time. Currently chairman of the Federal Agency for Physical Training and Sports (Minister of Sport).

Viktor Khotochkin – The first vice president of the Russian Olympic Committee

Vitaly Smirnov – IOC member. Executive President of the Organizing Committee of the Games of the XXII Olympiad in Moscow in 1980.

Shamil Tarpischev – Member of the IOC and Russian National Tennis team head coach.

Alexander Popov – Russian former professional swimmer, one of the world’s best swimmers of the 1990s. Member of the IOC.

Vladimir Lukin – liberal political activist, currently Human Rights Commissioner of Russia.

Tatyana Dobrokhvalova – Former Director of Marketing Communications for Russia’s largest mobile phone operator, and Sochi 2014 Bid Committee COO

Leave a Comment